Toggle Accessibility Tools

Professor Piotr Piecuch Elected to International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science

Piotr Piecuch, University Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Adjunct Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has been elected to one of physical science’s most exclusive learned societies, the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science. In its 51-year history, the Academy, headquartered in Menton, France, has inducted only 180 members. Among them are pioneers of quantum theory and molecular quantum science and Nobel Prize winners, including Louis de Broglie, Kenichi Fukui, Gerhard Herzberg, Roald Hoffmann, Martin Karplus, Walter Kohn, William Lipscomb, Rudolph Marcus, Robert Mulliken, Linus Pauling, John Pople, John van Vleck, and Arieh Warshel. Members of the Academy are chosen among scientists from all countries who have distinguished themselves by the value of their scientific work, and by their roles as pioneers or leaders of schools in the broad field of the application of quantum mechanics to the study of molecules, macro-molecules, and materials. Among the activities of the Academy are the organization of International Congresses of Quantum Chemistry and the attribution of medals to young members of the scientific community who have distinguished themselves by pioneering and important contributions to molecular quantum science.

Professor Piecuch has earned numerous honors throughout his career, including being named Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Fellow of the American Physical Society, Distinguished Fellow of the Kosciuszko Foundation Collegium of Eminent Scientists, Invited Fel­low of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, Member of the Euro­pean Acade­my of Sciences, Arts, and Humanities, and Alfred P. Sloan Foun­dation Fellow. By being elected to the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science, he joins the highly select group of the most distinguished world leaders in the area of quantum theory.