MSU Chemistry Professors Elected to Leadership Offices

  • Dec 8, 2016
  • Kevin Walker, Robert Maleczka

With well over 10,000 members the American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Organic Chemistry (DOC) is among the largest and oldest Divisions within the ACS.  The Mission of the DOC is to foster and promote advancement of the field of Organic Chemistry. This is done through the organization and sponsorship of lectures, posters and awards at ACS-sponsored meetings, the National Organic Symposium, Organic Reactions Mechanisms Conference, and elsewhere. The DOC also promotes graduate and undergraduate education in organic chemistry through programs such as the DOC Graduate Research Fellowship program, Travel Awards, etc.

Elected to office recently were:

  • Professor Robert E. Maleczka, Jr. was named Treasurer-Elect for 2017.
  • Professor Kevin D. Walker was elected Member-at-Large for 2017-2019.

Also of note: Professor Luis Sanchez (Niagara University), who is a graduate from Prof. Maleczka’s lab here at MSU, was also elected Member-at-Large for 2017-2019.