Chemistry Ph.D. Alumnus Named 2021 Chair-Elect of the American Chemical Society's Division of Organic Chemistry

  • Nov 23, 2020
  • Robert Maleczka
Photo of Dr. Lamont Terrell
Dr. Lamont Terrell

Dr. Lamont Terrell (Ph.D. 2001, Prof. Rob Maleczka’s group) was named 2021 Chair-Elect of the American Chemical Society’s Division of Organic Chemistry. He will serve as Chair in 2022 and as Past-Chair in 2023. With a membership of approximately 10,000 chemists from around the globe, the Division of Organic Chemistry works to foster and promote the advancement of the field of organic chemistry.

After earning his Ph.D. at MSU, Dr. Terrell was a Pfizer post-doctoral fellow at Stanford, and then joined GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) as a drug discovery chemist. Dr. Terrell currently heads GSK's Research & Development Early Talent and University Diversity efforts.  He previously served the Division as an elected member-at-large from 2018-2020.  Dr. Terrell becomes the first African-American elected Chair during the Organic Chemistry Division’s 110 year history. 

Congratulations, Lamont!

Division of Organic Chemistry - ACS Logo