

Previous Pfizer Distinguished Lecturers

1981	Koji Nakanishi
1983	George Whitesides
1984	K. Barry Sharpless*
1985	Gilbert Stork
1986	Samuel Danishefsky
1987	Barry Trost
1988	Paul Wender
1989	Larry Overman
1990	Bert Fraser-Reid
1991	Jeremy Knowles
1992	Peter Dervan
1993	Dieter Seebach
1994	Sir Derek H. R. Barton*
1995	Clayton H. Heathcock
1996	Stephen J. Lippard
1997	Heinz G. Floss
1998	Amos B. Smith, III
1999	Woodward Symposium: Kendall N. Houk, Thomas R. Hoye, Martin Saunders, and Harry H. Wasserman
2000	Jeffrey D. Winkler
2001	Robert M. Williams
2002	Robert G. Bergman
2003	Stephen Hanessian
2004	David A. Evans
2005	David E. Cane
2006	Samuel I. Stupp
2007	Eric N. Jacobsen

* Nobel Laureates

Twenty-seventh Annual

PFIZER DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP SERIES

PRESENTS

Professor

Stephen L. Buchwald

Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

September 24 and 25, 2008

Sponsored by





The Pfizer Lecturehip Series in Chemistry at Michigan State University

The Pfizer Lectureship Series in Chemistry (formerly the Warner-Lambert Lectureship Series) has enriched the experience of workers in the chemical sciences at MSU for over two decades. As is evident from the list of distinguished previous speakers, this lectureship has provided opportunities for students and faculty to interact with outstanding researchers from all areas of chemistry. We are grateful to Pfizer for ongoing support which permits us to continue the tradition of visits by such outstanding scholars and teachers as Professor Buchwald.



Lecture Topics

Wednesday, September 24, 2008 **"Transition Metal-Catalyzed Carbon-Heteroatom Bond-Forming Processes: Progress, Applications and Mechanistic Studies"** 4:10 pm, Room 138 Chemistry Building – MSU

Thursday, September 25, 2008 **"Palladium-Catalyzed Carbon-Carbon Bond-Forming Processes: Improving Old Reactions and Developing New Ones**" 4:10 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building – MSU



tephen L. Buchwald was born (1955), raised and received his precollege education in Bloomington, Indiana. He received his Sc.B. degree, Magna Cum Laude, in Chemistry, from Brown University in 1977. During his undergraduate years he worked in the laboratories of Professors Kathlyn A. Parker and David E. Cane at Brown University and Professor Gilbert Stork at Columbia University. He entered Harvard University as a National Science Foundation Predoctoral Fellow in 1977 and received his Ph.D. in 1982. His thesis work, under the supervision of Professor Jeremy R. Knowles, concerned the mechanism of phosphoryl transfer reactions in chemistry and biochemistry. In early 1982 he took up a position as a Myron A. Bantrell Postdoctoral Fellow at the California Institute of Technology where he worked in the laboratory of Professor Robert H. Grubbs. His work at Caltech concerned the study of titanocene methylenes as reagents in organic synthesis and on the mechanism of Ziegler-Natta polymerization. In 1984 he began as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor in 1989 and to Professor in 1993. He was named the Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry in January of 1997.

During his time at MIT he has received numerous honors including the Harold Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award of MIT, an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, the 2000 Award in Organometallic Chemistry from the American Chemical Society, a **MERIT** award from the National Institutes of Health. He has also been the recipient of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Distinguished Achievement Award and the CAS Science Spotlight Award, both received in 2005 and the American Chemical Society's Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry as well as the Siegfried Medal Award in Chemical Methods which Impact Process Chemistry, both received in 2006. In 2000, he was elected as a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and in 2008 he was elected as a member of the National Academy of Science. He is the coauthor of over 300 published or accepted papers and 39 issued patents. He serves as a consultant to a number of companies.