Lecture Topic for Thursday, February 3, 2005

"Self-Assembly Routes to Molecule-Based Organic Electronics"

4:00 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building – MSU



Tobin I. Marks is the Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of Catalytic Chemistry and Professor Materials Science and Engineering Northwestern University. at He received his B.S. from the University of Maryland (1966) and Ph.D. from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1971). He received the ACS Award in Polymeric Materials, 1983; the ACS Award Organometallic Chemistry, 1989; the ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry, 1994; the ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials, 2001; 1997 Centenary Medal, Royal Society of Chemistry; 2000 Chini Award, Italian Chemical

Society; 2000 Cotton Medal, Texas A&M Section of the ACS; 2001 Willard Gibbs Medal, Chicago Section of the ACS; 2001 Burwell Award of the North American Catalysis Society; 2001 Linus Pauling Medal, Pacific Northwest ACS Sections; 2002 American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal; 2003 German Chemical Society Karl Ziegler Medal; 2004 Royal Society of Chemistry Frankland Medal. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (elected 1993) and a Member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (elected 1993). He has published 780 research articles and holds 75 U.S. patents. For 1981-1997, Professor Marks was the second most cited inorganic chemist worldwide. He is currently Associate Editor of Organometallics, has served on and/or chaired a number of NSF, DOD, and DOE advisory panels, and is presently a consultant to six corporations and start-ups. He has organized more than 20 national and international workshops, symposia, and conferences.

The Alumni Distinguished Lectureship

This Award has been created by Chemistry's friends and alumni to provide for the visits of prominent scientists to the Department. During their visit, these scientists will either present a series of lectures or participate in a regular instructional program in the Department and will interact with faculty and students in a collegial atmosphere.

MICHIGAN STATE

MSU is an Affirmative Action-Equal Opportunity Institution

PREVIOUS DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI LECTURERS

Spring 1997 **Professor Peter G. Schultz**

Spring 1998
Professor Keith Woo

Fall 1998 **Professor Peter Wipf**

Spring 1999 **Dr. Michael K. Bowman**

Fall 1999 **Professor Robert H. Grubbs**

Fall 2000 **Dr. Howard Katz**

Spring 2001
Professor Joseph Francisco

Fall 2001 **Dr. Phaedon Avouris**

Spring 2002 **Professor Alison Williams**

Fall 2003

Professor Harry B. Gray

Spring 2005 **Professor Tobin J. Marks**



ALUMNI DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

Presents

Professor Tobin J. Marks

Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of
Catalytic Chemistry
and
Professor of Materials Science and
Engineering
Northwestern University

Sponsored by:

Friends and Alumni of the Department of Chemistry Michigan State University

4:00 pm Thursday February 3, 2005 Room 136 Chemistry