### The Max T. Rogers Lectureship Series in Chemistry

Michigan State University

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.



### Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

1949	M. A. Lauffer	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*
1950	Milton Burton	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1987	Harry B. Gray
1952	Harvey Diehl	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1989	Richard N. Zare
1954	Richard Dodson	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1955	Leon Marion	1991	John A. Pople*
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1957	I. M. Klotz	1993	John Bercaw
1958	John D. Roberts	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1959	Henry Eyring	1995	Martin Karplus*
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1961	George Watt	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1998	Alexander Pines
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1964	Charles Tanford	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1965	E. J. Corey*	2001	Peter B. Moore
1966	Manfred Eigen*	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	2003	Robert Tycko
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1969	Harden M. McConnell	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2006	R. Graham Cooks
1971	Carl Djerassi	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas
1972	Linus Pauling*	2008	Donald G. Truhlar
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2009	Chad A. Mirkin
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2010	Ann E. McDermott
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2011	Nathan S. Lewis
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2012	Raymond C. Stevens
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2013	Louis E. Brus
1978	William P. Jencks	2014	Thomas E. Mallouk
1979	Ilya Prigogine*	2015	Jonathan V. Sweedler
1980	Ronald Breslow	2016	William DeGrado
1981	Henry Taube*	2017	Benjamin Cravatt
1982	R. A. Marcus*	2018	Adriaan Bax
1983	Berni J. Alder	2019	Geraldine Richmond
1984	K. Neil Bartlett	2021-22	George C. Schatz

<sup>\*</sup>Nobel Laureates

## MAX T. ROGERS DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

#### **Presents**

# **Professor George C. Schatz**

Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and of Chemical and Biological Engineering Northwestern University

#### November 10 and 11, 2022

4:10 pm Thu., November 10, 2022 Zoom ID: 928 3205 2064 Passcode: 515429

2:15 pm Fri., November 11, 2022 Zoom ID: 930 7594 5013 Passcode: 700738

#### LECTURE TOPICS

#### "Understanding the Self-Assembly of Functional Nanostructures"

Thursday, November 10, 2022 4:10 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building Zoom ID: 928 3205 2064 Passcode: 515429

# "Exciton transport in complex environments and with entangled photons"

Friday, November 11, 2022 2:15 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building Zoom ID: 930 7594 5013 Passcode: 700738



### George C. Schatz

Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and of Chemical and Biological Engineering Northwestern University

eorge C. Schatz is Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Northwestern University. He received his undergraduate degree in chemistry at Clarkson University and a Ph.D. at Caltech. He was a postdoc at MIT, and has been at Northwestern since 1976.

Prof. Schatz has published five books and over 1000 papers. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science and was the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Physical Chemistry from 2005 to 2019. His awards include Sloan and Dreyfus Fellowships, the Fresenius Award of Phi Lambda Upsilon, the Max Planck Research Award, the Bourke Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Ver Steeg Fellowship of Northwestern University, the Feynman Prize of the Foresight Institute, the Herschbach Medal, the Debye and Langmuir Awards of the American Chemical Society, the S F Boys-A Rahman Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Hirschfelder Award of the University of Wisconsin, the Mulliken Medal of the University of Chicago, and the Ahmed Zewail Prize. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the American Chemical Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was honored in the George C. Schatz Festschrift of the Journal of Physical Chemistry A. Vol. 113, 2009. In 2011, he appeared on the Times Higher Education list of Top 100 Chemists of the Past Decade and has been on the Thompson-Reuters/Clarivate Analytics list of highly cited researchers since 2014.