Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

1984 K. Neil Bartlett

1985 Jean-Marie Lehn*

1000 L Calvin Ciddinas

1949 M. A. Lauffer

1950 Milton Burton

10F1 Malvin C Navyman

The Max T. Rogers			
Lectureship Series in Chemistry			
Michigan State University			

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.

1951	Melvin S. Newman	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1952	Harvey Diehl	1987	Harry B. Gray
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1954	Richard Dodson	1989	Richard N. Zare
1955	Leon Marion	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1991	John A. Pople*
1957	I. M. Klotz	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1958	John D. Roberts	1993	John Bercaw
1959	Henry Eyring	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1995	Martin Karplus*
1961	George Watt	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1998	Alexander Pines
1964	Charles Tanford	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1965	E. J. Corey*	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1966	Manfred Eigen*	2001	Peter B. Moore
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	2003	Robert Tycko
1969	Harden M. McConnell	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1971	Carl Djerassi	2006	R. Graham Cooks
1972	Linus Pauling*	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2008	Donald G. Truhlar
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2009	Chad A. Mirkin
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2010	Ann E. McDermott
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2011	Nathan S. Lewis
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2012	Raymond C. Stevens
1978	William P. Jencks	2013	Louis E. Brus
1979	Ilya Prigogine*	2014	Thomas E. Mallouk
1980	Ronald Breslow	2015	Jonathan V. Sweedler
1981	Henry Taube*	2016	William DeGrado
1982	R. A. Marcus*	2017	Benjamin Cravatt
1983	Berni J. Alder	2018	Adriaan Bax
2019	Geraldine Richmond	2021	George C. Schatz

MAX T. ROGERS DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

Presents

Professor George C. Schatz

Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and of Chemical and Biological Engineering Northwestern University

October 4, 2021

via Zoom

8:00 pm Mon., October 4, 2021 https://msu.zoom. us/j/94799409952 Meeting ID: 947 9940 9952

Passcode: 300435



LECTURE TOPIC

"Using Quantum Chemistry to Describe Plasmons"

Monday, October 4, 2021 https://msu.zoom. us/j/94799409952 Meeting ID: 947 9940 9952 Passcode: 300435



George C. Schatz

Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and of Chemical and Biological Engineering Northwestern University

eorge C. Schatz is Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry and of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Northwestern University. He received his undergraduate degree in chemistry at Clarkson University and a Ph.D. at Caltech. He was a postdoc at MIT, and has been at Northwestern since 1976.

Prof. Schatz has published three books and over 1000 papers. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences, and was the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Physical Chemistry from 2005 to 2019. Awards include Sloan and Dreyfus Fellowships, the Fresenius Award of Phi Lambda Upsilon, the Max Planck Research Award, the Bourke Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Ver Steeg Fellowship of Northwestern University, the Feynman Prize of the Foresight Institute, the Herschbach Medal, the Debye and Langmuir Awards of the ACS, the S F Boys-A Rahman Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the 2014 Hirschfelder Award of the University of Wisconsin, the 2014 Mulliken Medal of the University of Chicago, and the 2019 Ahmed Zewail Prize. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the American Chemical Society and of the AAAS. He was honored in the George C. Schatz Festschrift of the Journal of Physical Chemistry A. Vol 113, 2009. In 2010 he appeared on the Times Higher Education list of Top 100 Chemists of the Past Decade, and has been on the Thompson-Reuters / Clarivate Analytics list of highly cited researchers since 2014.