Previous Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

The Max T. Rogers			
Lectureship Series in Chemistry			
Michigan State University			

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.



Department of Chemistry

1949	M. A. Lauffer	1984	K. Neil Bartlett
1950	Milton Burton	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1952	Harvey Diehl	1987	Harry B. Gray
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1954	Richard Dodson	1989	Richard N. Zare
1955	Leon Marion	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1991	John A. Pople*
1957	I. M. Klotz	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1958	John D. Roberts	1993	John Bercaw
1959	Henry Eyring	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1995	Martin Karplus*
1961	George Watt	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1998	Alexander Pines
1964	Charles Tanford	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1965	E. J. Corey*	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1966	Manfred Eigen*	2001	Peter B. Moore
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	2003	Robert Tycko
1969	Harden M. McConnell	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1971	Carl Djerassi	2006	R. Graham Cooks
1972	Linus Pauling*	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2008	Donald G. Truhlar
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2009	Chad A. Mirkin
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2010	Ann E. McDermott
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2011	Nathan S. Lewis
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2012	Raymond C. Stevens
1978	William P. Jencks	2013	Louis E. Brus
1979	Ilya Prigogine*	2014	Thomas E. Mallouk
1980	Ronald Breslow	2015	Jonathan V. Sweedler
1981	Henry Taube*	2016	William DeGrado
1982	R. A. Marcus*	2017	Benjamin Cravatt
1983	Berni J. Alder		

*Nobel Laureates

MAX T. ROGERS DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

Presents

Professor Adriaan Bax

NIH Distinguished Investigator Biophysical Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy Section Laboratory of Chemical Physics

National Institutes of Health

December 3 and 4, 2018

11:20 am Mon., December 3, 2018

10:00 am Tue., December 4, 2018

LECTURE TOPICS

"Studies of Protein Folding, Misfolding, and Unfolding by Rapid Pressure Jump NMR"

Monday, December 3, 2018 11:20 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building

"NMR Suggests a Model for gp41-mediated HIV-1 Entry into the Host Cell"

Tuesday, December 4, 2018 10:00 am, Room 1400 Biomedical and Physical Sciences Building



Adriaan Bax

NIH Distinguished Investigator Biophysical Nuclear Magnetic

Resonance Spectroscopy Section Laboratory of Chemical Physics National Institutes of Health driaan (Ad) Bax was born in 1956, in The Netherlands and became a US citizen in 1999. He received his Ph.D. in 1981 from Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, for work related to the development of twodimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) techniques, which he carried out at Delft and Oxford Universities. His Ph.D. thesis was reprinted in book format and for many years served as a popular text, introducing students to the application of two-dimensional NMR in chemistry.

Dr. Bax joined NIH in 1983, where he has been working on the development and application of a wide variety of advanced multi-dimensional NMR techniques to problems of biochemical and biomedical interest. His group spearheaded the introduction of triple resonance NMR spectroscopy of ¹³C / ¹⁵N-enriched proteins, developed the now standard joint analysis of ¹⁵N R₁, R₂, and NOE for characterizing protein backbone dynamics, and introduced the first methods for weakly aligning proteins in a magnetic field by the use of liquid crystals.

Dr. Bax's work has been recognized by numerous awards, including the Hans Neurath Award from the Protein Society, and the 2018 Welch Award. In 2002, he was elected to both the National Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences.