The Max T. Rogers Lectureship Series in Chemistry Michigan State University

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.



Previous Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

1949	M. A. Lauffer	1983	Berni J. Alder
1950	Milton Burton	1984	K. Neil Bartlett
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*
1952	Harvey Diehl	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1987	Harry B. Gray
1954	Richard Dodson	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1955	Leon Marion	1989	Richard N. Zare
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1957	I. M. Klotz	1991	John A. Pople*
1958	John D. Roberts	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1959	Henry Eyring	1993	John Bercaw
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1961	George Watt	1995	Martin Karplus*
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1964	Charles Tanford	1998	Alexander Pines
1965	E. J. Corey*	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1966	Manfred Eigen*	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	2001	Peter B. Moore
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1969	Harden M. McConnell	2003	Robert Tycko
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1971	Carl Djerassi	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1972	Linus Pauling*	2006	R. Graham Cooks
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2008	Donald G. Truhlar
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2009	Chad A. Mirkin
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2010	Ann E. McDermott
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2011	Nathan S. Lewis
1978	William P. Jencks	2012	Raymond C. Stevens
1979	Ilya Prigogine*	2013	Louis E. Brus
1980	Ronald Breslow	2014	Thomas E. Mallouk
1981	Henry Taube*	2015	Jonathan V. Sweedler
1982	R. A. Marcus*	2016	William DeGrado
*Nobal Lauraataa			

*Nobel Laureates

MICHIGAN STATE

Department of Chemistry



Presents

Professor Benjamin Cravatt

Department of Molecular Medicine The Scripps Research Institute

4:10 pm Thurs., October 26, 2017

3:00 pm Fri., October 27, 2017

LECTURE TOPICS

"Activity Based Proteomics — Protein Discovery on a Global Scale"

Thursday, October 26, 2017 4:10 pm, Room 138 Chemistry Building - MSU

"Activity Based Proteomics — Ligand Discovery on a Global Scale"

Friday, October 27, 2017 3:00 pm, Room 1410 Biomedical and Physical Sciences Building – MSU



enjamin F. Cravatt is a Professor in Dthe Skaggs Institute for Chemical **Biology and Co-Chair of the Department** of Molecular Medicine at The Scripps Research Institute. His research group is interested in understanding the roles that enzymes play in physiological and pathological processes, especially as pertains to the nervous system and cancer. To address this challenge, they develop and apply an array of genetic, pharmacological, and proteomic/metabolomic technologies. The Cravatt group has obtained fundamental insights into the chemical, biochemical, and physiological workings of several important mammalian serine hydrolases, including enzymes involved in the neurobiology of pain and cancer metabolism and malignancy.

Dr. Cravatt obtained his undergraduate education at Stanford University, receiving a B.S. in the Biological Sciences and a B.A. in History. He then trained with Drs. Dale Boger and Richard Lerner and received a Ph.D. in Macromolecular and Cellular Structure and Chemistry from The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) in 1996. Professor Cravatt joined the faculty at TSRI in 1997 as a member of the Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology and the departments of Cell Biology and Chemistry. Dr. Cravatt is a co-founder and scientific advisor of Activx Biosciences and Abide Therapeutics. His honors include a Searle Scholar Award (1998-2001), the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry (2004), a Cope Scholar Award (2005), the Irving Sigal Young Investigator Award (2007), the Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award in Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry (2008), a MERIT award from the National Cancer Institute (2009) and inducted member of the National Academy of Sciences (2014) as well as being elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2016).