The Max T. Rogers Lectureship Series in Chemistry Michigan State University

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.



Previous Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

1949	M. A. Lauffer	1983	Berni J. Alder
1950	Milton Burton	1984	K. Neil Bartlett
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*
1952	Harvey Diehl	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1987	Harry B. Gray
1954	Richard Dodson	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1955	Leon Marion	1989	Richard N. Zare
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1957	I. M. Klotz	1991	John A. Pople*
1958	John D. Roberts	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1959	Henry Eyring	1993	John Bercaw
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1961	George Watt	1995	Martin Karplus*
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1964	Charles Tanford	1998	Alexander Pines
1965	E. J. Corey*	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1966	Manfred Eigen*	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	2001	Peter B. Moore
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1969	Harden M. McConnell	2003	Robert Tycko
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1971	Carl Djerassi	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1972	Linus Pauling*	2006	R. Graham Cooks
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2008	Donald G. Truhlar
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2009	Chad A. Mirkin
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2010	Ann E. McDermott
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2011	Nathan S. Lewis
1978	William P. Jencks	2012	Raymond C. Stevens
1979	Ilya Prigogine*	2013	Louis E. Brus
1980	Ronald Breslow	2014	Thomas E. Mallouk
1981	Henry Taube*	2015	Jonathan V. Sweedler
1982	R. A. Marcus*		

^{*} Nobel Laureates



MAX T. ROGERS DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

Presents

Professor William DeGrado

Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry University of California - San Francisco

> 4:10 pm Thurs., April 7, 2016

3:00 pm Fri., April 8, 2016

LECTURE TOPICS

"De Novo Design of Metalloproteins"

Thursday, April 7, 2016 4:10 pm, Room 138 Chemistry Building - MSU

"Structure, Mechanism and Inhibition of the M2 Proton Channel from Influenza A Virus"

Friday, April 8, 2016 3:00 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building – MSU



illiam (Bill) DeGrado's work focuses on the design of small molecule drugs, peptides, proteins, and peptide mimetics. Bill is currently a Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of California San Francisco, where he is also a member of the Cardiovascular Research Institute. Before joining UCSF in 2011, he was a member of DuPont Central Research and DuPont Merck Pharmaceutical Company from 1981 to 1996 and the Raiziss Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of Pennsylvania (1996 -2011). Bill is a member of the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Inventors, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He also is a

past-president of the Protein Society and was the scientific founder of PolyMedix, which discovered brilacidin. Brilacidin, currently licensed to Cellceutix, is now in phase III clinical trials for drug-resistant *Staphylococcal aureus* infections. Some of Bill's research interests include: de novo design of proteins and peptide; peptide mimetics; structure/function of membrane proteins, including integrins and viral ion channels; small molecule drug design; bioinorganic chemistry.

Bill graduated from Kalamazoo College in 1978, received his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the University of Chicago (1981), and joined DuPont Central Research without an intervening postdoctoral position.