#### The Max T. Rogers Lectureship Series in Chemistry Michigan State University

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.



#### Previous Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

	•		
1949	M. A. Lauffer	1982	R. A. Marcus*
1950	Milton Burton	1983	Berni J. Alder
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1984	K. Neil Bartlett
1952	Harvey Diehl	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1954	Richard Dodson	1987	Harry B. Gray
1955	Leon Marion	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1989	Richard N. Zare
1957	I. M. Klotz	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1958	John D. Roberts	1991	John A. Pople*
1959	Henry Eyring	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1993	John Bercaw
1961	George Watt	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1995	Martin Karplus*
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1964	Charles Tanford	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1965	E. J. Corey*	1998	Alexander Pines
1966	Manfred Eigen*	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	2001	Peter B. Moore
1969	Harden M. McConnell	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2003	Robert Tycko
1971	Carl Djerassi	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1972	Linus Pauling*	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2006	R. Graham Cooks
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2008	Donald G. Truhlar
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2009	Chad A. Mirkin
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2010	Ann E. McDermott
1978	William P. Jencks	2011	Nathan S. Lewis
1979	Ilya Prigogine*	2012	Raymond C. Stevens
1980	Ronald Breslow	2013	Louis E. Brus
1981	Henry Taube*	2014	Thomas E. Mallouk

\* Nobel Laureates

MICHIGAN STATE

Department of Chemistry



Presents

# Professor Jonathan V. Sweedler

James R. Eiszner Family Chair in Chemistry Director, School of Chemical Science University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

### 3:00 pm Wed., April 1, 2015

4:10 pm Thurs., April 2, 2015

#### Lecture Topics

## "New Analytical Tools for the Cell-By-Cell Chemical Characterization of the Brain"

Wednesday, April 1, 2015 3:00 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building - MSU

### "From Corals to Humans, the Common Chemicals Connecting Our Brains"

Thursday, April 2, 2015 4:10 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building - MSU



onathan Sweedler received his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Arizona in 1988 and spent several vears at Stanford before moving to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1991 where he has been ever since. At Illinois, he is currently the Eiszner Family Professor of Chemistry, Director of the School of Chemical Science, and affiliated with the Institute of Genomic Biology and the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. His research interests focus on developing new approaches for assaying small volume samples, and in applying these methods to study novel interactions between cells. These approaches include micro and nanofluidics, miniaturized separations, mass spectrometry and NMR. He has used these tools to characterize small molecules and peptides in a range of animal models across metazoan life and in samples as small as individual cells and cellular domains. Professor Sweedler, with large international teams of biologists and technologists, has performed

comprehensive interrogation of the genome, transcriptome and peptidome in *Aplysia californica*, *Schmidtea mediterranea*, *Apis mellifera*, *Taeniopygia guttata*, *Strongylocentrotus purpuratus*, and other models to uncover signaling peptides and pathways involved in wide range of functions and behaviors.

Professor Sweedler has published more than 350 manuscripts and presented 400 invited lectures. He has received numerous awards including the American Chemical Society (ACS) Analytical Division Arthur Findeis Award, the Benedetti-Pichler Award in Microanalysis, the Gill Prize in Neuroscience, the Instrumentation Award from the Analytical Division of the ACS, the Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, and the 2014 ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry. He is a fellow of both the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Chemical Society. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief for Analytical Chemistry.