The Max T. Rogers Lectureship Series in Chemistry Michigan State University

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.

M	IIC	1	HC	ĴΑ	N	S	T	4 T	Έ
U	Ν	I	V	Е	R	S	I	Т	Y

Previous Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

	Distinguished Lecturers								
1949	M. A. Lauffer	1980	Ronald Breslow						
1950	Milton Burton	1981	Henry Taube*						
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1982	R. A. Marcus*						
1952	Harvey Diehl	1983	Berni J. Alder						
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1984	K. Neil Bartlett						
1954	Richard Dodson	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*						
1955	Leon Marion	1986	J. Calvin Giddings						
1956 .	Joseph J. Katz	1987	Harry B. Gray						
1957	I. M. Klotz	1988	Thomas C. Bruice						
1958 .	John D. Roberts	1989	Richard N. Zare						
1959	Henry Eyring	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*						
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1991	John A. Pople*						
1961	George Watt	1992	Gerhard L. Closs						
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1993	John Bercaw						
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1994	Jerrold Meinwald						
1964	Charles Tanford	1995	Martin Karplus						
1965	E. J. Corey*	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*						
1966	Manfred Eigen*	1997	Graham R. Fleming						
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	1998	Alexander Pines						
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*						
1969	Harden M. McConnell	2000	Keith U. Ingold						
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2001	Peter B. Moore						
1971	Carl Djerassi	2002	Michael J. Sailor						
1972	Linus Pauling*	2003	Robert Tycko						
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2004	John C. Polanyi*						
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos						
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2006	R. Graham Cooks						
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas						
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2008	Donald G. Truhlar						
1978	William P. Jencks	2009	Chad A. Mirkin						
1979	Ilya Prigogine*								

^{*} Nobel Laureates



MAX T. ROGERS DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

Presents

Professor Ann E. McDermott

Esther Breslow Professor of Biological Chemistry

Department of Chemistry and Department of Biological Sciences

Columbia University New York, NY

4:10 pm Wed., January 12, 2011 and Thurs., January 13, 2011

Lecture Topics

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

"Shifting Shapes - How to
See a Protein's Moves"

4:10 pm, Room 138

Chemistry Building - MSU

Thursday, January 13, 2011

"Choreography of an Ion Channel in a Bilayer Membrane:
An NMR Study of KcsA"

4:10 pm, Room 136

Chemistry Building - MSU



nn McDermott is the Esther Breslow Professor of Biological Chemistry at Columbia University, appointed in both the Chemistry Department and the Department of Biological Sciences. She has a B.Sc. in Chemistry from Harvey Mudd College. where she carried out research in physical organic chemistry with Philip Myhre, and a Ph.D. in Chemistry from U.C. Berkeley, where she worked with Kenneth Sauer and Melvin Klein, carrying out spectroscopic studies of the photosynthetic reaction centers of green plants. She carried out postgraduate work at MIT with Dr. Robert Griffin studving Nuclear Magnetic Resonance. and at the Tropical Medicine Institute of the ULB in Brussels, Belgium.

Her research at Columbia University concerns understanding the remarkable ability of naturally occurring proteins to catalyze chemical reactions; she studies the structure and inherent flexibility of these proteins using magnetic resonance methods, as well as the implications of these motions for drug discovery and biologically based solar energy conversion. On the basis of this research, she is the recipient of the Pure Award in Chemistry (1996) and the Eastern Analytic Symposium Award for Achievement in Magnetic Resonance (2005), and she is an elected member of both the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences. Her research group has been supported by the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, the Sloan Research Foundation and the Cottrell Research Foundation. Her former students and postdoctoral coworkers are on the faculty of University of Illinois, University of Delaware, Texas A&M University, Tel Aviv University, Georgetown University, George Washington University, and others. She is the author or coauthor of over 100 peer-reviewed publications. At Columbia University she recently served as Associate Vice President for Academic Advising and Science Initiatives in the Arts and Sciences, and she teaches in both the graduate biophysics and the undergraduate chemistry programs.