Previous Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

1949	M. A. Lauffer	1979	Ilya Prigogine*
1950	Milton Burton	1980	Ronald Breslow
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1981	Henry Taube*
<i>1952</i>	Harvey Diehl	1982	R. A. Marcus*
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1983	Berni J. Alder
1954	Richard Dodson	1984	K. Neil Bartlett
1955	Leon Marion	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1957	I. M. Klotz	1987	Harry B. Gray
1958	John D. Roberts	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1959	Henry Eyring	1989	Richard N. Zare
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1961	George Watt	1991	John A. Pople*
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1993	John Bercaw
1964	Charles Tanford	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1965	E. J. Corey*	1995	Martin Karplus
1966	Manfred Eigen*	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	1998	Alexander Pines
1969	Harden M. McConnell	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1971	Carl Djerassi	2001	Peter B. Moore
1972	Linus Pauling*	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2003	Robert Tycko
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2006	R. Graham Cooks
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas
1978	William P. Jencks	2008	Donald G. Truhlar

* Nobel Laureates

Chemistry

MAX T. ROGERS DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

Presents

Professor Chad A. Mirkin

Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology, George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Medicine, and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering,

> Northwestern University Evanston, Illinois

4:10 pm Mon., April 27, 2009 and Tues., April 28, 2009



The Max T. Rogers Lectureship Series in Chemistry Michigan State University

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.



Lecture Topics

Monday, April 27, 2009 **"Programming Materials Synthesis with DNA: Application in Biology and Medicine**" 4:10 pm, Room 138 Chemistry Building – MSU

Tuesday, April 28, 2009 **"Anisotropic Nanostructures – Building Valency into Nanoparticles"** 4:10 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building – MSU



Professor Chad A. Mirkin is the Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology, the George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Medicine, and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering.

A chemist and a world renowned nanoscience expert, Professor Mirkin is known for his development of nanoparticle-based biodetection schemes, the invention of Dip-Pen Nanolithography, and contributions to supramolecular chemistry. He is the author of over 360 manuscripts and over 350 patents and applications, and the founder of two companies, Nanosphere and Nanolnk, which are commercializing nanotechnology applications in the life science and semiconductor industries. At present, he is listed as one of the top 10 most-cited chemists in the world, and is the top most-cited nanomedicine researcher in the world.

Dr. Mirkin has been recognized for his accomplishments with over 50 national and international Awards. These include the Havinga Medal, Gustavus John Esselen Award, Biomedical Engineering Society's Distinguished Achievement Award, Department of Defense NSSEFF Award, Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, ACS Inorganic Nanoscience Award, iCON Innovator of the Year Award, a NIH Director's Pioneer Award, the Collegiate Inventors Award, National Inventors Hall of Fame (2002, 2004), an Honorary Doctorate Degree from Dickinson College, the Pennsylvania State University Outstanding Science Alumni Award, the ACS Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education in Chemistry, a Dickinson College Metzger-Conway Fellowship, the 2003 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences, the Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology, the Leo Hendrick Baekeland Award, Crain's Chicago Business "40 under 40 Award," the Discover 2000 Award for Technological Innovation, I-Street Magazine's Top 5 List for Leading Academics in Technology, the Materials Research Society Young Investigator Award, the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, the PLU Fresenius Award, the Harvard University E. Bright Wilson Prize, the BF Goodrich Collegiate Inventors Award, the Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Award, the DuPont Young Professor Award, the NSF Young Investigator Award, the Naval Young Investigator Award, the Beckman Young Investigator Award, and the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation New Faculty Award.

He is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Mirkin has served on the Editorial Advisory Boards of over twenty scholarly journals. At present he is a member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of Accounts of Chemical Research, Advanced Materials, Angewandte Chemie, BioMacromolecules, Macromolecular Bioscience, SENSORS, Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Chemistry-A European Journal, Chemistry & Biology, Nanotechnology Law & Business, The Scientist, Journal of Materials Chemistry, and Journal of Cluster Science, Plasmonics. He is the founding editor of the journal Small, one of the premier international nanotechnology journals, and he has coauthored two bestselling books on nanobiotechnology.

Dr. Mirkin holds a B.S. from Dickinson College (1986, elected into Phi Beta Kappa) and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the Pennsylvania State University (1989). He was an NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology prior to becoming a chemistry professor at Northwestern University in 1991.