

The Max T. Rogers Lectureship Series in Chemistry Michigan State University

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.



Previous Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

1949	M. A. Lauffer	1979	Ilya Prigogine*
1950	Milton Burton	1980	Ronald Breslow
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1981	Henry Taube*
1952	Harvey Diehl	1982	R. A. Marcus*
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1983	Berni J. Alder
1954	Richard Dodson	1984	K. Neil Bartlett
1955	Leon Marion	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1957	I. M. Klotz	1987	Harry B. Gray
1958	John D. Roberts	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1959	Henry Eyring	1989	Richard N. Zare
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1961	George Watt	1991	John A. Pople*
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1993	John Bercaw
1964	Charles Tanford	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1965	E. J. Corey*	1995	Martin Karplus
1966	Manfred Eigen*	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	1998	Alexander Pines
1969	Harden M. McConnell	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1970	F. Albert Cotton	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1971	Carl Djerassi	2001	Peter B. Moore
1972	Linus Pauling*	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2003	Robert Tycko
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2006	R. Graham Cooks
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2007	Sir John Meurig Thomas
1978	William P. Jencks		

* Nobel Laureates

MAX T. ROGERS DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

Presents

Professor Donald G. Truhlar

Regents Professor of Chemistry, Chemical Physics, Nanoparticle Science and Engineering, and Scientific Computation

University of Minnesota

4:10 pm Mon., April 21, 2008 and Tues., April 22, 2008 and Wed., April 23, 2008



Lecture Topics

Monday, April 21, 2008 **"Variational Transition State Theory and Tunneling, with Applications to Enzyme Catalysis"** 4:10 pm, Room 138 Chemistry Building - MSU

Tuesday, April 22, 2008 **"Density Functionals with Broad Applicability for Main Group and Transition Metal Chemistry, Spectroscopy, Kinetics, and Noncovalent Interactions"** 4:10 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building - MSU

Wednesday, April 23, 2008 **"Quantum Photochemistry"** 4:10 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building - MSU



onald G. Truhlar was born in Chicago in 1944. He received a B.A. in chemistry from St. Mary's College of Minnesota in 1965 and a Ph.D. from Caltech in 1970 where his adviser was Aron Kuppermannn. He has been on the faculty of the University of Minnesota since 1969, where he is currently Regents Professor of Chemistry, Chemical Physics, Nanoparticle Science and Engineering, and Scientific Computation. His research interests are theoretical and computational chemical dynamics and molecular structure and energetics. He is the author of over 900 scientific publications, and he has received several awards for his research, including a Sloan Fellowship, Fellowship in the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, an NSF Creativity Award, the ACS Award for Computers in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Research, the Minnesota Award, the National Academy of Sciences Award for Scientific Reviewing, the ACS Peter Debye Award for Physical Chemistry, the Schrödinger Medal of The World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists, and election to the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science. He has been married to Jane Truhlar since 1965, and he has two children, Sara Elizabeth Truhlar and Stephanie Marie Eaton Truhlar.