The Max T. Rogers Lectureship Series in Chemistry at Michigan State University

The Michigan State University Department of Chemistry has helped sponsor an annual lecture series that brings world-renowned scientists to the campus each year. The lecture series was co-sponsored by the Renaud Foundation for 39 years, and hence, traditionally became known as the Renaud Lecture Series. Although the philanthropic trust of the Renaud Foundation was liquidated, the Chemistry Department has continued this prestigious series of lectures.

An anonymous donor has helped spark widespread support for the Lecture Series in the name of Max T. Rogers. Dr. Rogers, a physical chemist who served as Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University for over 40 years, was a special member of the Department of Chemistry and the University. His outstanding contributions in the area of magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and his enlightened view of science, added prestige and distinction to the Department of Chemistry and the University community. It is a privilege for the MSU Department of Chemistry to continue the lecture series in the name of Professor Max T. Rogers.



MSU is an Affirmative Action-Equal Opportunity Employer

Previous Max T. Rogers Distinguished Lecturers

1949	M. A. Lauffer	1978	William P. Jencks
1950	Milton Burton	1979	Ilya Prigogine*
1951	Melvin S. Newman	1980	Ronald Breslow
1952	Harvey Diehl	1981	Henry Taube*
1953	Melvin Calvin*	1982	R. A. Marcus*
1954	Richard Dodson	1983	Berni J. Alder
1955	Leon Marion	1984	K. Neil Bartlett
1956	Joseph J. Katz	1985	Jean-Marie Lehn*
1957	I. M. Klotz	1986	J. Calvin Giddings
1958	John D. Roberts	1987	Harry B. Gray
1959	Henry Eyring	1988	Thomas C. Bruice
1960	Herbert A. Laitinen	1989	Richard N. Zare
1961	George Watt	1990	Ahmed H. Zewail*
1962	Derek H. R. Barton*	1991	John A. Pople*
1963	Peter J. W. Debye*	1992	Gerhard L. Closs
1964	Charles Tanford	1993	John Bercaw
1965	E. J. Corey*	1994	Jerrold Meinwald
1966	Manfred Eigen*	1995	Martin Karplus
1967	Ronald S. Nyholm	1996	Paul C. Lauterbur*
1968	Herbert C. Brown*	1997	Graham R. Fleming
1969	Harden M. McConnell	1998	Alexander Pines
1970	F. Albert Cotton	1999	Dudley R. Herschbach*
1971	Carl Djerassi	2000	Keith U. Ingold
1972	Linus Pauling*	2001	Peter B. Moore
1973	Paul D. Bartlett	2002	Michael J. Sailor
1974	Gerhard Herzberg*	2003	Robert Tycko
1975	William N. Lipscomb*	2004	John C. Polanyi*
1976	Leslie E. Orgel	2005	A. Paul Alivisatos
1977	Roald Hoffmann*	2006	R. Graham Cooks

* Nobel Laureates



MAX T. ROGERS DISTINGUISHED LECTURESHIP

Presents

Professor Sir John Meurig Thomas

Honorary Professor of Solid State Chemistry Department of Materials Science University of Cambridge, UK

Davy Faraday Research Laboratory The Royal Institution of Great Britain, London Professor of Chemistry

4:10 pm Tues., April 18, 2007 and Wed., April 19, 2007 and Thurs. April 20, 2007

MICHIGAN STATE

Lecture Topics

Wednesday, April 18, 2007 **"Faraday and Franklin"** 4:10 pm, Room 138 Chemistry Building – MSU

Thursday, April 19, 2007 "The Advantages and Potential of Single Site Heterogeneous Catalysts" 4:10 pm, Room 136

Chemistry Building - MSU

Friday, April 20, 2007 **"Nanotomography and the Chemist"** 4:10 pm, Room 136 Chemistry Building – MSU



Photographer John Holman

Cir John Meurig Thomas is Professor of Chemistry Jat the Davy Faraday Research Laboratory, The Royal Institution (RI) of Great Britain, London (of which he was Director 1986-1991) and, from 1993 to 2002, Master of Peterhouse, the oldest College of the University of Cambridge. He is also Honorary Professor, Department of Materials Science, Cambridge, He received his BSc and PhD degrees from the University of Wales (Swansea), having spent his last year of graduate study at Queen Mary College, London. After a year's research in the UK Atomic Energy Authority, he was appointed in 1958 an Assistant Lecturer (later Senior Lecturer, then Reader) in Chemistry at the University College of Wales, Bangor. In 1969 he became Head of Chemistry at the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, a post he held until 1978 when he took up the Headship of the Department of Physical Chemistry (and Professional Fellowship at King's College), University of Cambridge. In 1986 he succeeded Sir George Porter as Director of the RI, London. From 1991 to 1994 he was part-time Deputy Pro-Chancellor of the Federal University of Wales.

Sir John was awarded his DSc by the University of Wales in 1964 and his ScD (Cantab) in 1994. He holds honorary doctorates from Universities all over the world. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Society and an Honorary Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Science, American Philosophical Society, American Carbon Society, Third World Academy of Science (Trieste), Royal Society of Edinburgh, Royal Academy of Engineering, Engineering Academy of Japan, Indian National Academy, Russian Academy of Sciences, Royal Spanish Academy of Science, National Academy of Venezuela, Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, and a Member of the Academia Europea and of the Gorsedd of Bards (National Eisteddfod of Wales). He is Sesquicentennial Fellow of the Royal Microsopical Society of the UK, and Honorary Fellow of the UK Institute of Physics and an Honorary Bencher of Gray's Inn, London. Born December 1932 in South Wales, he was married to Margaret, a biblical scholar and student of comparative religion, who passed away in 2002. They have two daughters, a lawyer and a professional musician. His scientific family over the past 40 years consists of some 250 graduate students, postdoctoral research fellows and visiting associates. He lives in Cambridge, England, and in his spare time serves as VP of the Cambridge University Musical Society.

For his contributions to catalysis, solid-state chemistry and to materials and surface science he has been widely recognized with honors that include: the Davy Medal and the Rutherford Lectureship of the Royal Society, the Messel Gold Medal of the Society of Chemical Industry, the Willard Gibbs Gold Medal of the ACS, the Linus Pauling Gold Medal from Stanford University and the first recipient of the Award for Creative Research in Homogeneous and Heterogeneous Catalysis from the American Chemical Society, the Pettinos Prize (First) of the American Carbon Society, the Semenov Centenary Medal from the Russian Academy of Science, and from the Royal Society of Chemistry the Faraday Medal, Longstaff Medal, Tilden Medal, Hugo-Müller Medal, Corday Morgan Medal and the Solid State Chemistry Medal. In 1991 he was knighted by Queen Elizabeth for his services to chemistry and the popularization of science. In 1978 he gave the BBC Annual Radio Lecture (in Welsh) and in 1987 BBC televised nationally his Royal Institution Christmas Lectures. From 1982-85 he served on the Cabinet Office (Whitehall) Government Advisory Council for Applied Research and Development. He was on the Board of Trustees of the Natural History Museum (1987-91) and the Science Museum, London (1990-95), was a founder member of COPUS, the Committee on the Popularization of Science (1986-91), served as Chairman of CHEMRAWN (Chemical Research Applied to World Needs - 1998-91), President of the London Youth International Science Festival (1989-93) and is President (1995-Present) of the Llanelli Branch of the Worker Educational Association. A new mineral, meurigite, was named in his honor in 1995.